There’s no doubt that Concealed Carry is one of the hottest topics among firearms owners. That’s why more than 12,600 students have completed Point Blank Concealed Carry classes in just the past two years! For some, the right to carry a concealed firearm is central to their decision to become a gun owner. For others, the decision to carry comes only after years of experience. Whichever category you’re in, Point Blank can help you achieve the proficiency you need, while meeting the regulatory requirements for your state. Those requirements vary widely, so be sure you consult with a knowledgeable authority when determining what’s right for you. Point Blank uses NRA or state certified instructors, so you know you can be sure you’re getting the latest and most accurate information, in a clean, climate-controlled facility.
If you are just starting out, we recommend taking one of our basic handgun classes first. Once you have the fundamentals down, all our Concealed Carry courses will build on that education to sharpen your knowledge of:
• State laws concerning concealed carry statutes
• Firearm safety and handling
• Knowledge of handgun parts and operations
• Cleaning and maintaining your firearm
• Proper shooting technique and stance
Take a look at our calendar to find the class that fits—and ladies, remember we have Ladies Only classes in concealed carry too. Of course, safety and good technique are important everywhere, but, as we mentioned, the detailed requirements differ from state to state. Let’s take a quick look at the process in the states we serve.
In Ohio, you need both classroom and range instruction to get your concealed carry permit. It takes a total of 8 hours. Point Bank offers both two-day and one-day courses. NRA certified instructors will take you through all the state requirements. You’ll receive a certificate to take with your state application to the Sheriff’s department, demonstrating your completion of Ohio’s required training.
The Kentucky class looks much like Ohio’s, with 8 hours of instruction by NRA certified professionals. The application process, however, can actually be completed online once you have your certificate.
In Illinois, you’ll need sixteen hours of instruction, but you may get credit for up to eight hours of earlier education. Perhaps you took a course with us earlier, or completed training through the military or law enforcement. Your completed work may fulfill a portion of the requirement. All students will get instruction in the law and specific concealed carry techniques. All instructors are state certified. Illinois firearm owners apply for concealed carry online as well, through the same website where they received their FOID (Firearm Owners Identification) card.
Indiana has the easiest application process and does not require a class—which makes basic education all that much more important. Your obligations as a firearm owner are the same regardless. Be smart and stay safe.
Check out our concealed carry class page for more details, like how much ammunition you’ll need and what accessories you may want to bring. Then look forward to taking the next step in your journey as a firearm owner!
search provided by Store Locator Plus